Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Eerie similarities between the 1992 and 2022 World Cups for Pakistan

And so there were two.

The T20 Cricket World Cup, which started almost a month ago, is set for its grand finale: England v Pakistan at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Australia on Sunday.

But wait, have we seen this one before? For those old enough to remember, yes, in the same place, 30 years ago.

When Pakistan lost their first two games of the Super 12 stage, they were almost out of the tournament. As well as winning their remaining matches, Pakistan would need divine help as well as one of the lower ranked teams to beat powerhouses India or South Africa.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The Netherlands duly bound.

Pakistan then beat Bangladesh and is now one win away from the trophy.

Here’s why the tournament invokes déjà vu:

It started with the loss of Australia

Australia, co-hosts of the 1992 tournament, began as defending champions. They won the 1987 edition and started the 1992 tournament as one of the favourites, but lost the opening match against New Zealand and failed to qualify for the semi-finals.

Fast forward 30 years, Australia launched the defense of their T20 crown with a loss against New Zealand.

Down but not out. Pakistan is through to the World Cup final despite losing the first two matches [AFP]

England’s victory over South Asian opponents

England began their 1992 campaign with a win over Asian India in Perth. This time, England faced Afghanistan in the same city and with the same result.

Bad start for Pakistan and defeat against India

On the other side was Pakistan, perennial slow starters. They began the 1992 campaign with a 10-wicket loss to the West Indies, meeting India a few days later and losing by 43 runs.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

This time, Pakistan again lost to India, a last ball loss in their first match.

See also  Zelenskyy criticizes Israel and suggests nuclear collusion between Russia and Iran

saved by the rain

In 1992, Pakistan were playing their third match of the tournament, against England, and seemed to be facing defeat when rain rescued them and the match ended, giving both teams one point each. That single point moved Pakistan up the table and sent them to the semi-finals.

While the rain did not affect any of Pakistan’s matches, it did play a role in Pakistan’s final position in the table. South Africa faced Zimbabwe in a rain-affected match and were marching to a big win when the skies opened and the match was cancelled. A win would have given South Africa two points and leveled them with Pakistan.

three at a trot

After three losses, one win and one point in a rain-affected match, Pakistan’s run in the round-robin phase of the 1992 tournament ended with three straight wins.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

In 2022, after losing the first two games, Pakistan restarted and won their last three games to take six points.

miracle of the last day

Pakistan went into the final day of the Super 12 knowing that even a victory would not be enough to book them a place in the semi-final. They duly beat New Zealand to do their share of the work and then waited for Australia to do the rest against the West Indies, who had a chance to progress with a win. But the West Indies lost and Pakistan secured the last place in the semi-final.

This year, Pakistan had to beat Bangladesh but, to qualify, they needed the Netherlands to beat South Africa (not possible, right?) or Zimbabwe to stun India (again, what?). The Netherlands duly complied and produced one of the most stunning upsets in World Cup history by defeating South Africa.

Semi-final victory over New Zealand

It was the first time this had happened, but all cases yielded the same result: Pakistan always beats New Zealand in a Cricket World Cup semi-final. The trend started in 1992 in Auckland, New Zealand, when Pakistan won by four wickets to enter their first World Cup final.

The latest semi-final meeting between the two sides has produced the same result: a win for Pakistan by seven wickets.

In the other three instances, Pakistan defeated New Zealand in the semi-finals of the 1999 World Cup, the 2007 World T20 and the 2009 World T20.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
Routine victory: Pakistan beat New Zealand in a World Cup semi-final [Reuters]

family finalists

Finally, as in 1992, Pakistan and England will meet in a World Cup final at the MCG, but this time, both teams have already won the title once and will be looking to add a second.

Bonus (and you’ll love this)

Pakistan’s late rise was helped by a young attacking batsman born in March (1992: Inzamam-ul-Haq, 2022: Mohammad Haris).

Pakistan’s main wicket-winners to the final were a left-arm pacer and leg spinner (1992: Wasim Akram and Mushtaq Ahmed, 2022: Shaheen Shah Afridi and Shadab Khan).

England’s leading wicket-taker was an all-rounder (1992: Ian Botham, 2022: Sam Curran).

Hire Us For website setup, design, tech support or any type of online work. Send Email
Follow Us On Google News Google News
Follow Us On Facebook Facebook
Follow Us On Pinterest Pinterest
Follow Us On Tumblr Tumblr
Follow Us On Telegram Telegram
Follow Us On Linkedin LinkedIN
Download Free Games Download Free Games

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like