Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Fifa World cup

Kylian Mbappe wins World Cup Golden Boot award after hat-trick in final defeat

newFile 5

Kylian Mbappé won the Golden Boot at the World Cup in Qatar after scoring a hat-trick in France’s loss to Argentina in Sunday’s final.

The award goes to the player who has scored the most goals in the most recent edition of the tournament, an accolade Mbappe garnered on Sunday (Dec 18) by scoring for the sixth, seventh and eighth times at the World Cup in Qatar.

French striker Mbappé entered the final with five goals, level with Paris Saint-Germain teammate Lionel Messi, but with two assists to the Argentine’s three, making Messi the frontrunner for the reward.

And Messi looked to have won the Golden Boot after opening the scoring with a first-half penalty, a platform Argentina built when Ángel Di María made it 2-0 before halftime. But with 10 minutes remaining in regulation time, Mbappé scored his own penalty before completing a half-volley brace just 97 seconds later.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The Golden Boot seemed to be going home again with Messi in extra time, when the 35-year-old scored a close goal to put Argentina 3-2 up, but Mbappé netted another penalty minutes later to once again equalize and win. . Messi in the race for the award alone.

Argentina then won on penalties, with Mbappé and Messi scoring in the shootout, although goals in the shootout do not count towards the Golden Boot.

Mbappé’s goals on Sunday also made him the first man to score four goals in World Cup finals and the second to score a hat-trick in a final, the first since Geoff Hurst in England’s 1966 win over West Germany.

See also  Who is the referee in charge of the World Cup final

Behind Mbappé and Messi in the standings were Frenchman Olivier Giroud, who became his country’s all-time top scorer during this tournament, and Argentine Julián Álvarez. Both forwards had scored four times before the final without registering any assists. Giroud, however, was taken out of the running when he was substituted after Argentina made it 2-0 in the first half.

Mbappe, who turns 24 on Tuesday (December 20), scored his first goal of the tournament in France’s opening match as the defending champions recorded a 4-1 win over Australia. The PSG striker then scored both of France’s goals in a 2-1 win against Denmark, before coming on as a substitute against Tunisia and failing to score as Les Bleus lost 1-0.

In the round of 16, Mbappe scored twice again, helping Didier Deschamps’s side to a 3-1 win, before going hitless against England in the quarter-finals, though France came out on top 2-1 overall. modes.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

In a 2-0 semi-final win over Morocco, France’s goals again came from elsewhere, before the French faced Argentina in the final and Mbappé scored his quick brace and penalty after extra time.

Lionel Messi scored twice in the final, which was eventually won by Argentina on penalties.

(fake images)

At the 2018 World Cup in Russia, where England’s Harry Kane won the Golden Boot with six goals, Mbappé scored four times.

Aged 19 at the time, Mbappé became the youngest player to score in a World Cup final since Pelé for Brazil in 1958. The Frenchman scored his team’s last goal in a 4-1 win. 1 against Croatia.

List of previous Golden Boot winners

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
World Cup Top scorer Goals runner-up(s) Goals Third place Goals
1930 Uruguayan william stable 8 Pedro Cea 5 bert patenaude 4
1934 Italy Aldrich did not eat 5 Edmund Conen, Angelo Schiavio 4 None
1938 France Leonidas 7 Gyorgy Sarosi, Gyula Zsengeller, Silvio Piola 5 None
1950 Brazil ademir 8 oscar miguez 5 Alcides Ghiggia, Chico, Estanislau Basora, Telmo Zarra 4
1954 Switzerland sandor kocsis eleven Josef Hugi, Max Morlock, Erich Probst 6 None
1958 Sweden just fontaine 13 Pele, Helmut Rahn 6 None
1962 Chile Florian Albert, Valentin Ivanov, Garrincha, Vava, Drazan Jerkovic, Leonel Sanchez 4 None None
1966 England eusebio 9 helmut haller 6 Valeriy Porkuyan, Geoff Hurst, Ferenc Bene, and Franz Beckenbauer 4
1970 Mexico Gerd Muller 10 jairzinho 7 Teofilo Cubillas 5
1974 West Germany Gregory Summer 7 Andrzej Szarmach, Johan Neeskens 5 None
1978 Argentine[50] Mario Kempes 6 Teofilo Cubillas 5 Rob Rensenbrink 5
1982 Spain paolo rossi 6 Karlheinz Rummenigge 5 Zico 4
1986 Mexico gary lineker 6 Emilio Butragueño, Careca, Diego Maradona 5 None
1990 Italy salvatore schillaci 6 Thomas Skuhravy 5 Roger Milla, Gary Lineker 4
1994 United States Oleg SalenkoHristo Stoichkov 6 None Kenneth Andersson, Romario 5
1998 France davor suker 6 Gabriel Batistuta Christian Vieri 5 None
2002 South Korea/Japan ronaldo 8 Miroslav Klose, Rivaldo 5
2006 Germany miroslav klose 5 Hernan Crespo 3 ronaldo 3
2010 South Africa Thomas Muller 5 David Villa 5 Wesley Sneijder 5
2014 Brazil James Rodriguez 6 Thomas Muller 5 neymar 4
2018 Russia harry kane 6 antoine griezman 4 Romelu Lukaku 4

Hire Us For Any Type of Online work like web designing, auto blogging, Social media @cheap Rate Send Email
Follow Us On Google News Google News
Follow Us On Facebook Facebook
Follow Us On Pinterest Pinterest
Follow Us On Tumblr Tumblr
Follow Us On Telegram Telegram
Follow Us On Linkedin LinkedIN
Download Free Games Download Free Games

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like